Linguine with Salami & Zucchini

salamizucchini

My variation of this rich pasta dish comes from a Frugal Gourmet recipe that my father made for us growing up. The original recipe called for capers, which my father never used, thus they never made it into my version. Salami, zucchini and a creamy sauce may sound like a strange combination, but I promise you’ll love it! Because it’s so simple to make, this was one of the first dishes I learned to make for myself when I was living on my own. If you don’t know how to make your own cream sauce–this recipe shows you. It’s so simple you’ll want to hit yourself for not attempting it earlier! I carried this knowledge over to making other cream sauce pasta dishes, but I wouldn’t advise too many since it’s so fattening. I try not to have this dish more than once a month–it really is a treat! Feel free to try it with other pasta noodles–I also like it with penne, farfalle, and campanelle.

howsalamizuc

Ingredients:
-8oz linguine (or other pasta)
-4 to 6oz hard salami, cut into small pieces
-1 medium zucchini, cut into 1/2in chunks
-6 to 8 cloves of garlic, minced
-1 tsp fresh ground pepper
-1 pint heavy whipping cream
-1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Romano cheese

Directions:

  1. Boil water for pasta. Heat saucepan to medium and add salami. Sautè until lightly crisp. Add zucchini and sautè for 3 minutes. Add garlic and sautè for another minute or two.
  2. Pour the pint of heavy whipping cream over the salami/zucchini mixture. Bring to a low bubble and simmer for 10-12 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. While the cream is simmering, cook pasta al dentè.
  4. After 10-12 minutes of simmering the cream mixture, stir in 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese and fresh ground pepper and let simmer for another minute.
  5. Serve over pasta with additional Parmesan if desired.
One thought on “Linguine with Salami & Zucchini

Leave a Reply

