Simple Beer Roast

snowday

This is the scene in the courtyard of my apartment building. Yes, this amount of snow shuts down towns in North Carolina. We’re “stuck” at home, with work closed. Ironically, our tax refunds came in yesterday with the NC-style blizzard and we can’t even leave to go shopping! 😛

While everyone else is at home enjoying their milk and bread (milk-bread sandwich, anyone?), Ben and I will be enjoying the most delicious beer roast ever. Yes, I mean Ever. The best part? There are only 5 ingredients! Say whaaa?!

thelineupThis recipe is super simple–you just throw it all in the crock pot, come back in 8 hours and devour its lovely goodness. You can use any beer you wish; I just happened to have Highland Gaelic Ale in my fridge, so that’s what I used. Previously, I used a breakfast stout which was also amazing. Please, however, step it up and don’t pour a Bud Light over this delicious meat. I’ve served this with a cauliflower casserole before, but tonight I’m serving this with mashed sweet potatoes. Get at me, “snowday”.

roast

Ingredients:
-2 to 4lb chuck roast
-1 large sweet onion
-8 to 10 cloves garlic
-12oz GOOD bottled beer
-Worcestershire sauce 
Directions:
Chop onion in large half-rings and place in bottom of crock pot. Place chuck roast on top. Throw garlic on top of roast, and give a few shakes (or five) of Worcestershire over the roast. Pour entire beer in and cook on low for 8 hours.
 
Leave a Reply

